2006 Seattle

Race Results

SEATTLE -- Canada's Jean Theoret drove Miss Beacon Plumbing to a decisive repeat victory Sunday in the Chevrolet Cup at Seafair race for unlimited hydroplanes. Theoret, last year's defending race champion, took the lead at the start of Sunday's race and steadily increased it for a quarter-lap lead ahead of J.W. Myers in Fairweather Masonry by the end of the five-lap race. Afterward, officials reviewed videotape and assessed Myers a one-lap penalty for a lane violation, which dropped him to sixth place. The decision gave second place to Steve David driving Oh Boy! Oberto, who had a spirited duel with Myers. Theoret won the regatta in the same boat last year, when under different ownership it was named LLumar Window Film. When he won last year, Theoret was the first Canadian driver to win an unlimited hydroplane race in the United States since Bob Hayward won the 1959 Detroit Memorial. Third place went to Dave Villwock driving Miss E-Lam Plus. Villwock, the pre-race favorite, said the engine just didn't have the power to be competitive. advertising "We just didn't have it this time," he said. Fourth place went to Mike Allen driving Formulaboats.com II. He was followed by teammate Jeff Bernard driving Formulaboats.com

More Photos