2005 Gold Cup!

1st ... U13 Terry Troxell 142.448
2nd ... U16 J.W. Myers 139.520
3rd ... U5 Mike Weber 126.806

Longshot Troxell prevails in Gold Cup

Boat's owner, who is from Bloomfield Hills, gets hydroplane racing's biggest prize in first race. Terry Troxell entered the Detroit Gold Cup final as a longshot Sunday afternoon. He finished holding the coveted trophy as a first-time winner. Troxell's victory also made David Bartush of Bloomfield Hills a champion in his first race. Bartush bought the boat last month. He then made his biggest move by naming Troxell his driver. Troxell, 58, became the oldest winner since 1946). Troxell's boat, the U-13 Miss Al Deeby Dodge, also became the oldest to win the Gold Cup. All weekend, Troxell said he had frontline equipment but no quality backup parts. His game plan was to get enough points in the heats to make the Gold Cup field and then show horsepower in the final. He executed it to perfection, taking the lead from the start and never looking back. "It's truly amazing," said Troxell who competed in his fifth Gold Cup. "This was my first race this year. I'd be working on a concrete patio right now (if not for Bartush's call)." Bartush became the first local owner to win the Gold Cup since George Simon in 1976 (Miss U.S.) "This is my first race," said Bartush, a Detroit businessman. "I'm thinking this is too easy. I couldn't have picked a better driver. This is absolutely the tops. It can't get any better than this." The final became a three-boat field when J. Michael Kelly lost control of his U-2 Dick Scott Automotive Group Miss DYC in the first corner of the first lap. It flipped and landed upside down. J.W. Myers finished second in the U-16 Miss Elam. Detroit native Mike Weber was third in the U-5 Formulaboats.com. ... By David Goricki / The Detroit News

Results for Heat 4A ...
DQ ... U3 Jimmy King
DNF ... U8 Jean Theoret
DNF ... U6 Steven David
DNS ... U2 J. Michael Kelly
DNS ... U25 Ken Muscatel

Results for Heat 4B ...
1st ... U13 Terry Troxell 130.614
2nd ... U5 Mike Weber 122.851
3rd ... U100 Greg Hopp 120.608
4th ... U16 J.W. Myers 134.198 (Lap Penalty)

Results for Heat 3A ...
1st ... U8 Jean Theoret 144.854
2nd ... U16 J.W. Myers141.141
3rd ... U2 J. Michael Kelly 140.501
4th ... U25 Ken Muscatel 68.724
DNF ... U100 Greg Hopp

Results for Heat 3B ...
1st ... U3 Jimmy King 143.019
2nd ... U6 Steven David138.466
3rd ... U13 Terry Troxell 129.239
4th ... U5 Mike Weber 121.325

Results for Heat 2A ...
1st ... U8 Jean Theoret 144.812
2nd ... U13 Terry Troxell 138.962
3rd ... U100 Greg Hopp 122.815
DNS ... U25 Ken Muscatel
DNS ... U3 Jimmy King

Results for Heat 2B ...
1st ... U6 Steven David 142.093
2nd ... U16 J.W. Myers 140.373
3rd ... U5 Mike Weber 120.248
4th ... U2 J. Michael Kelly 135.858 (Lap Penalty)

Results for Heat 1A ...
1st ... U8 Jean Theoret 144.006
2nd ... U100 Greg Hopp 129.871
3rd ... U5 Mike Weber 120.228
DNF ... U6 Steve David
DNF ... U3 Jimmy King

Results for Heat 1B ...
1st ... U16 J.W. Myers 139.28
2nd ... U2 J. Michael Kelly 137.374
3rd ... U13 Terry Troxell 121.311
4th ... U25 Ken Muscatel 97.836


U8 Llumar Window Film Jean Theoret 156.173
U3 Miss Chrysler Jeep Jimmy King 152.638
U6 Oh Boy! Oberto Steve David 150.537
U2 Dick Scott Group Presents Miss DYC J. Michael Kelly 149.572
U100 Miss Rebecca Greg Hopp 143.684
U25 Superior Racing Ken Muscatel 144.627
U5 FormulaBoats.com Mike Weber 144.350
U13 Miss Al Deeby Dodge Terry Troxell 131.044
U16 ELAM Plus J.W. Myers 130 N2v

J.W. Myers flips the ELAM ...

The boat has been repaired and qualified Saturday Morning.

Gold Cup Winners List!
YearBoatDriverAvg. MPH
1904Standard (June)Carl Riotte*23.160
1904Vingt-Et-Un II
W. Sharpe Kilmer*24.900
1905Chip IJ.M. Wainwright*15.000
1906Chip IIJ.M. Wainwright*25.000
1907Chip IIJ.M. Wainwright*23.903
1908Dixie IIE.J. Schroeder*29.938
1909Dixie IIE.J. Schroeder*29.590
1910Dixie IIIF.K. Burnham*32.473
1911MIT IIJ.H. Hayden*37.000
1912P.D.Q. IIA.G. Miles*39.462
1913Ankle DeepC.S. Mankowski*42.779
1914Baby Speed
   Demon II
Jim Blackton
& Bob Edgren
1915Miss DetroitJohnny Milot
& Jack Beebe
1916Miss MinneapolisBernard Smith48.860
1917Miss Detroit IIGar Wood*54.410
1918Miss Detroit IIGar Wood51.619
1919Miss Detroit IIIGar Wood*42.748
1920Miss America IGar Wood*62.022
1921Miss America IGar Wood*52.825
1922Packard ChriscraftJ.G. Vincent*40.253
1923Packard ChriscraftCaleb Bragg43.867
1924Baby BootleggerCaleb Bragg*45.302
1925Baby BootleggerCaleb Bragg*47.240
1926Greenwich FollyGeorge Townsend*47.984
1927Greenwich FollyGeorge Townsend*47.662
1928Not held  
1929ImpRichard Hoyt*48.662
1930Hotsy TotsyVic Kliesrath*52.673
1931Hotsy TotsyVic Kliesrath*53.602
1932Delphine IVBill Horn57.775
1933El LagartoGeorge Reis*56.260
1934El LagartoGeorge Reis*55.000
1935El LagartoGeorge Reis*55.056
1936ImpshiKaye Don45.735
1937Notre DameClell Perry63.675
1938AlagiTheo Rossi*64.340
1939My SinZ.G. Simmons Jr.*66.133
1940Hotsy Totsy IIISidney Allen*48.295
1941My SinZ.G. Simmons Jr.*52.509
1942-45 Not held  
1946Tempo VIGuy Lombardo*68.132
1947Miss Peps VDanny Foster57.000
1948Miss Great LakesDanny Foster46.845
1949My SweetieBill Cantrell73.612
1950Slo-Mo-Shun IVTed Jones78.216
1951Slo-Mo-Shun VLou Fageol90.871
1952Slo-Mo-Shun IVStan Dollar79.923
1953Slo-Mo-Shun IVJoe Taggart
& Lou Fageol
1954Slo-Mo-Shun VLou Fageol92.613
1955Gale VLee Schoenith99.552
1956Miss ThirftwayBill Muncey96.552
1957Miss ThriftwayBill Muncey101.787
1958Hawaii Kai IIIJack Regas103.000
1959MaverickBill Stead104.481
1960Not held  
1961Miss Century 21Bill Muncey99.678
1962Miss Century 21Bill Muncey100.710
1963Miss BardahlRon Musson105.124
1964Miss BardahlRon Musson103.433
1965Miss BardahlRon Musson103.132
1966Tahoe MissMira Slovak93.019
1967Miss BardahlBill Shumacher101.484
1968Miss BardahlBill Shumacher108.173
1969Miss BudweiserBill Sterett98.504
1970Miss BudweiserDean Chenoweth99.562
1971Miss MadisonJim McCormick98.043
1972Atlas Van LinesBill Muncey104.277
1973Miss BudweiserDean Chenoweth99.043
1974Pay 'n PakGeorge Henley104.428
1975Pay 'n PakGeorge Henley108.921
1976Miss U.S.Tom D'Eath100.412
1977Atlas Van LinesBill Muncey*111.822
1978Atlas Van LinesBill Muncey*100.412
1979Atlas Van LinesBill Muncey*100.765
1980Miss BudweiserDean Chenoweth106.932
1981Miss BudweiserDean Chenoweth116.387
1982Atlas Van LinesChip Hanauer120.050
1983Atlas Van LinesChip Hanauer118.507
1984Atlas Van LinesChip Hanauer130.175
1985Miller AmericanChip Hanauer120.643
1986Miller AmericanChip Hanauer116.523
1987Miller AmericanChip Hanauer127.620
1988Miss Circus CircusChip Hanauer
& J. Prevost
1989Miss BudweiserTom D'Eath131.209
1990Miss BudweiserTom D'Eath143.176
1991Winston EagleMark Tate137.771
1992Miss BudweiserChip Hanauer136.282
1993Miss BudweiserChip Hanauer141.296
1994Smokin' Joe'sMark Tate145.532
1995Miss BudweiserChip Hanauer149.160
1996Pico/American DreamDave Villwock149.328
1997Miss BudweiserDave Villwock129.366
1998Miss BudweiserDave Villwock140.704
1999Miss PicoChip Hanauer152.591
2000Miss BudweiserDave Villwock139.416
2001Miss Tubby's SubsMike Hanson140.022
2002Miss BudweiserDave Villwock143.112
2003U-3 Fox Hills CJeepMitch Evans144.152
2004U-10 Miss DYCNate Brown141.195
2005U-13 Al Deeby DodgeTerry Troxell142.448

Note that (*) indicates driver was also owner of the winning boat